Corn, plough, sow

Coriolanus, [3.1.62-74]. Coriolanus. “Tell me of corn!/ This was my speech, and I will speak ‘t again–” Menenius. “Not now, not now.” First Senator. “Not in this heat, sir, now.” Coriolanus. “Now, as I live,/ I will. My nobler friends, I crave their pardons./ For the mutable, rank-scented meiny, let them/ Regard me as I do not flatter, and/ Therein behold themselves. I say again,/ In soothing them, we nourish ‘gainst our Senate/ The cockle of rebellion, insolence, sedition,/ Which we ourselves have plough’d for, sow’d, and scatter’d,/ By mingling them with us, the honor’d number,/ Who lack not virtue, no, nor power, but that/ Which they have given to beggars.”

One Response to “Corn, plough, sow”

  1. Shakespeare’s Plants (alphabetical) « PLANTS Says:

    […] Coriolanus, [3.1.42-45]; Coriolanus, [3.1.42-45]; Coriolanus, [2.3.14-17]; Coriolanus, [3.1.62-74]; Titus Andronicus, [2.3.122-123]; Titus Andronicus, [5.3.67-72]; As You Like It, […]

Comments are closed.


