Spring flowers: daffodil, violet, primrose, oxlip, crown imperial, lily, flower-de-luce/ branch, flower, garland

The Winter’s Tale, [4.4.109-135]. Camillo. “I should leave grazing, were I of your flock,/ And only live by gazing.” Perdita. “Out alas!/ You’d be so lean, that blasts of January/ Would blow you through and through. Now, my fair’st friend,/ I would I had some flow’rs o’ th’ spring that might/ Become your time of day; and yours, and yours,/ That wear upon your virgin branches yet/ Your maidenheads growing. O Proserpina,/ For the flow’rs now that, frighted, thou let’st fall/ From Dis’s wagon! Daffodils,/ That come before the swallow dares, and take/ The winds of March with beauty; violets dim,/ But sweeter than the lids of Juno’s eyes/ Or Cytherea’s breath; pale primroses,/ That die unmarried, ere they can behold/ Bright Phoebus in his strength — a malady/ Most incident to maids; bold oxlips and/ The crown imperial; lilies of all kinds,/ The flow’r-de-luce being one. O, these I lack,/ To make you garlands of, and my sweet friend,/ To strew him o’er and o’er. Florizel. “What, like a corse?” Perdita. “No, like a bank for love to lie and play on,/ Not like a corse; or if, not to be buried,/ But quick and in mine arms. Come, take your flow’rs./ Methinks I play as I have seen them do/ In Whitsun pastorals. Sure this robe of mine/ Does change my disposition.”

One Response to “Spring flowers: daffodil, violet, primrose, oxlip, crown imperial, lily, flower-de-luce/ branch, flower, garland”

  1. Shakespeare’s Plants (alphabetical) « PLANTS Says:

    […] Crown Imperial: The Winter’s Tale, [4.4.109-135]. […]

Comments are closed.


