Wormwood, weed (v.)

Love’s Labor’s Lost, [5.2.836-850]. Rosaline. “Oft have I heard of you, my Lord Berowne,/ Before I saw you; and the world’s large tongue/ Proclaims you for a man replete with mocks,/ Full of comparisons and wounding flouts,/ Which you on all estates will execute/ That lie within the mercy of your wit,/ To weed this wormwood from your fruitful brain,/ And therewithal to win me, if you please,/ Without the which I am not to be won,/ You shall this twelvemonth term from day to day/ Visit the speechless sick and still converse/ With groaning wretches; and your task shall be,/ With all the fierce endeavor of your wit/ To enforce the pained impotent to smile.”

One Response to “Wormwood, weed (v.)”

  1. Shakespeare’s Plants (alphabetical) « PLANTS Says:

    […] Wormword, Hamlet 3.2. “In second husband let me be accurst! None wed the second but who killed the first./ Ham.(aside): Wormwood, wormwood!” Romeo and Juliet [1.3.24-32]. Nurse.. “And she was weaned (I never shall forget it),/ Of all the days of the year, upon that day;/ For I had then laid wormwood to my dug,/ Sitting in the sun under the dovehouse wall./ My Lord and you were then at Mantua./ Nay, I do bear a brain. But, as I said,/ When it did taste the wormwood on the nipple/ Of my dug and felt it bitter, pretty fool,/ To see it tetchy and fall out with the dug”; The Rape of Lucrece, [890-896]; Love’s Labor’s Lost, [5.2.836-850]. […]

Comments are closed.


