Sycamore, thicket

Love’s Labor’s Lost, [5.2.89-96]. Boyet. “Under a cool shade of a sycamore/ I thought to close mine eyes some half an hour,/ When, lo, to interrupt my purpos’d rest,/ Toward that shade I might behold address’d/ The King and his companions. Warily/ I stole into a neighbor thicket by,/ And overheard what you shall overhear–/ That, by and by, disguis’d they will be here.”

One Response to “Sycamore, thicket”

  1. Shakespeare’s Plants (alphabetical) « PLANTS Says:

    […] The Sycamore Maple. Romeo and Juliet [1.1.121-126], “Madam, an hour before the worshiped sun/ Peered forth the golden window of the East,/ A troubled mind drave me to walk abroad;/ Where, underneath the grove of sycamore/ That westard rooteth from this city side,/ So early walking did I see your son.” In ‘the willow song’, Othello, [4.3.43-59]; Sycamore: Love’s Labor’s Lost, [5.2.89-96]. […]

Comments are closed.